Federal UniversityUniversity

ATBU: A Detailed Guide

ATBU Bauchi: A Brief History and Background

Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, popularly known as ATBU, is a federal university of Nigeria named after the first Prime Minister of Nigeria, Sir Abubakar Tafawa Balewa.

Established in Bauchi in the year 1980, ATBU was previously named Federal University of Technology, Bauchi.

ATBU’s motto is ‘Doctrina Mater Artium.’ This means ‘Education is the mother of the practical arts.’

In October 1981, the institution admitted its first set of students for remedial and pre-degree programmes. In October 1982, the School of Science and Science Education began degree courses.

The university merged with Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, on the 1st of October, 1984. Its name was changed to Abubakar Balewa College, Ahmadu Bello University, Bauchi campus.

In 1988, the institution regained its autonomy and its name was changed to Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi.

After due consultation with subject experts from Nigeria, the United States of America, and the United Kingdom, ATBU formulated its academic programmes in 1980.

The internationally-recognized university has 6 schools- the School of Technology Education, the School of Engineering, Agriculture, Science, Management Technology, and Environmental Technology. It offers bachelors, Masters and Doctorate degrees in a wide range of courses.

The National Universities Commission (NUC) has officially accredited most of the courses at ATBU.

Logo of Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University
Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University: Logo

ATBU Admission

The admission list has not been officially released. However, below is a step-by-step guide on how to check your admission status on ATBU portal and website.

To check the admission list on the portal:

  • Click on the link atbu.edu.ng/ to access the ATBU admission portal.
  • Click on the admission list for the 2020/2021 session.
  • Input your username and password, or your JAMB registration number.
  • Login and check your admission status by clicking on ‘Check Admission Status.’

Abubakar Tafawa Balewa (ATBU) Courses

Below are some of the courses offered at ATBU.

Accounting Technology

Agric-Economics and Extension

Agricultural Engineering


Automobile Engineering

Automobile Technology Education

Banking and Finance


Business Management

Chemical Engineering


Civil Engineering

Computer and Communication Engineering

Computer Science

Electrical and Electronics Engineering

Estate Management


Industrial Chemistry

Industrial Design

Information Technology

Library and Information Science

Management Technology


Mechanical Engineering

Medicine and Surgery

Petrochemical Engineering

Quantity Surveying


Surveying and Geoinformatics

A building in Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University

ATBU Admission List

ATBU Admission List for the 2020/2021 session has not been officially released by the school management.

Abubakar Tafawa Balewa (ATBU) Hostels

To book accommodation, kindly visit www.atbu.edu.ng/ehostel. Using your Matriculation Number, you can generate REMITA. Use any bank of your choice to proceed with payment.


ATBU is no longer selling its postgraduate application forms. However, registration for undergraduate programmes is still in progress.

To register, kindly visit https://www.atbu.edu.ng/ug/auth

To follow-up with news and updates about the institution, such as admissions, registration, and school fees, kindly visit their official website: www.atbu.edu.ng

ATBU Remita

To pay online, kindly visit https://www.atbu.edu.ng/api/pay/pay.php

Below are the steps for online payment-

  • Provide your personal details
  • Confirm details
  • Print details by making a copy of the invoice
  • Proceed to make payment
  • Confirm payment.

ATBU Bauchi School Fees

Total School Fees

New Students

Freshers – N44,250

Returning Students- N39,500

Foreign Students

Freshers- N99,600

Returning students- N86,100

ATBU Login

To login to the ATBU portal, kindly visit: https://portal.atbu.edu.ng/hrdd/pages/login.php


To become a candidate, kindly visit: www.atbu.edu.ng.screening. Use your JAMB registration number as a username to login into the portal.

  • Generate the REMITA Retrieval Reference and make the N2,000 payment into the ATBU account.
  • Upload your passport.
  • Complete the bio-data form.
  • Input your scratch card pin number for verification of WAEC, NABTEB, or NECO.

ATBU Result Checker

The following steps will assist you in checking your results online.

  • Visit atbu.edu.ng to login to the website
  • At the right-hand side of the page, you will see a section named ‘My Dashboard.’ Click on this icon.
  • Using your username and password, login in.
  • Search for the results panel.
  • Choose the session and semester’s result you want to view. Afterwards, submit.
  • The session and semester result will be displayed on the next page. If no result is being displayed, this might mean that it has not been uploaded.

 ATBU Medical Courses

ATBU College of Medical Sciences offers several medical and health-related courses such as Medicine and Surgery.

 ATBU Postgraduate Portal

To access the ATBU Postgraduate portal, kindly visit: https://www.atbu.edu.ng/pg/auth

 ATBU Registration Portal

To visit ATBU’s programmes, kindly visit: https://www.atbu.edu.ng/web/front#

 ATBU Post UTME Form 2020

The Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University Post UTME form for the 2020/2021 session is out. To be updated with the latest information, kindly visit: www.atbu.edu.ng

 ATBU Faculty of Engineering

The following departments are under the Faculty of Engineering:

Department of Agriculture and Bioresource Engineering

Department of Automotive Engineering

Department of Chemical Engineering

Department of Civil Engineering

Department of Computer & Communication

Department of Electrical/Electronic Engineering

Department of Mechanical/Production Engineering

Department of Mechatronics and Systems Engineering

Department of Petroleum Engineering.

Admission Requirements

Below are the admission requirements common to students at the Faculty of Engineering.

Five-Year Degree Programme

Candidates interested in enrolling for this programme must fulfill the entry requirements of the university, including the required five credits in relevant subjects, which must be obtained in not more than two sittings. These subjects include credit in Mathematics, English Language, Chemistry, and Physics at O’ Level.

Four-Year Programme

Direct entry candidates are required to enroll in the programme’s second year. To qualify, candidates must fulfill the O’Level requirements. This must include passes in Physics and Mathematics at IJMB, A’ level, or its equivalent. A’ level pass in Chemistry is required for Chemical and Petroleum Engineering.

National Diploma holders can be admitted into 200level. Higher National Diploma holders can also be admitted into 300level. These candidates must fulfill the O’ level requirements.

Maryam A

Maryam AbdulWahab is a creative writer and lifestyle blogger. She is also a graduate of Economics from Al-Hikmah University. She lives and breathes literature. When she isn’t writing prose or blog posts, she is reading a fiction work or studying events around her. She writes from Lagos, Nigeria. You can find more of her works on her handles.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button