Federal PolytechnicPolytechnicState Polytechnic

ASUP: Polytechnics Under ASUP, History of ASUP, and More

What is ASUP and Why was it Established? 

Academic Staff Union of Polytechnics (ASUP) was founded to fulfill the following objectives:

  • To bring together all academic staff from Nigeria’s polytechnics, monotechnics, and
  • To encourage its members to take an active role in the advancement of Nigeria’s technology, education and commerce.
  • To advance, promote, and demand that its members be provided with adequate working circumstances.
  • To pursue additional goals that are legal and do not conflict with the spirit of Nigerian trade unionism.
  • To work with the Federal and State governments to establish a culture of good governance in order to achieve the goals of Nigerian Polytechnic/Monotechnic education.
  • To enhance and encourage its members’ education and training.
  • Collaborating with other organizations and unions that have similar goals.
  • To achieve and maintain a high level of academic achievement as well as professional and technological competence.
  • To provide beneficial service(s) to its members.

The logo of ASUP

History of ASUP Strikes in Recent Years

In November 2017, the Academic Staff Union of Polytechnics (ASUP) announced that they would commence ‘a total and comprehensive indefinite’ strike. Their decision was reached due to the failure of the federal government to meet the outstanding agreement.

ASUP, however, suspended the strike fifteen days later. This is because the federal government agreed to put the recommendations of the 2014 NEEDS assessment into action.

The agreement stressed the importance of increased funding for polytechnics.

On the 12th of December, 2018, ASUP began a nationwide strike as they joined university lecturers who had been on strike for more than a month.

The Academic Staff Union of Polytechnic’s president revealed that the federal government did not meet the polytechnic lecturers’ demands.

The president announced that the strike would be ‘total and indefinite.’

In June 2021, the Academic Staff Union of Polytechnics (ASUP) declared a strike unless the federal government complies with its demands.

In a nine-point demand, the body sought, among other things, the adoption of a new remuneration plan, the revitalization of polytechnics, the establishment of a national commission for polytechnics, the implementation of a new national minimum wage, and the payment of arrears.

After that, ASUP suspended its sixty-five (65) days industrial strike.

This followed an agreement that was reached between the federal government and the union.

The National Publicity Secretary of ASUP, Mr. Abdullahi Yalwa, said regarding the suspension:

“The suspension is for a period of three months to enable the government complete the execution of the items contained in the Memorandum of Action signed with the Union from 27th April, 2021.”

The union expects that the suspension of the strike would create an enabling climate for the government to complete other parts of the memorandum.

Has ASUP Helped in Improving the Educations Standards?

ASUP has helped in improving the education standards in several ways. ASUP seeks for the revitalization of polytechnics, the implementation of a new minimum wage, the adoption of a new remuneration plan, and a host of others.

A picture of ASUP members having a meeting.

List of Polytechnics Under ASUP

The following are the polytechnics under the Academic Staff Union of Polytechnics (ASUP):

Federal Polytechnic, Bida

Federal Polytechnic Ado Ekiti

Federal Polytechnic Offa

Federal Polytechnic Nasarawa

Federal Polytechnic Bauchi

Akanu Ibiam Federal Polytechnic Unwana

Federal Polytechnic Ede

Federal Polytechnic Oko

Federal Polytechnic Nekede

Federal Polytechnic Idah

Auchi Polytechnic

Kaduna Polytechnic, Kaduna

Federal Polytechnic Bali

Federal Polytechnic Ilaro

Federal Polytechnic, Daura

Federal Polytechnic Ekowe

Delta State Polytechnic, Ogwashikwu

Rivers State Polytechnic, Bori

Federal Polytechnic Damaturu

Yaba College of Technology

Federal Polytechnic of Oil and Gas Bonny

Federal Polytechnic Kaltungo

Federal Polytechnic Ile-Oluji

Federal Polytechnic Mubi

Federal Polytechnic Kaura Namoda

National Institute of Construction Technology Uromi

Portharcourt City Polytechnic, Portharcourt

Airforce Institute of Technology (AFIT)

Waziri Umaru Federal Polytechnic

Petroleum Training Institute Effurun

Nigerian Army Institute of Technology and Environmental Science (NAITES)

Hussaini Adamu Federal Polytechnic

Federal Polytechnic Ukana

Shehu Idris College of Health Science Makarfi

Bauchi State College of Agriculture, Bauchi

Maryam A

Maryam AbdulWahab is a creative writer and lifestyle blogger. She is also a graduate of Economics from Al-Hikmah University. She lives and breathes literature. When she isn’t writing prose or blog posts, she is reading a fiction work or studying events around her. She writes from Lagos, Nigeria. You can find more of her works on her handles.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button