college of Edu

A Detailed Review of Niger State College of Education, Minna

The Niger State College of Education, Minna, is an institution founded in 1975 as an advanced teacher’s college.

With the aim of producing highly trained teachers, the North-Western State Government established the advanced teacher’s college. The institution became a College of Education in 1983. The administrative secretary became the Registrar, and the principal became the provost.

Niger State College of Education’s mission is “to be recognized as a center of excellence in higher education and to re-strategize as a center of excellence in higher education and training, for quality education and sustainable rejuvenation of the education system so as to meet the development yearnings of people of Niger State.”

 Niger State College of Education, Minna Admission Status

To check the admission status, kindly visit the following link: You will be required to enter your Application Number. After that, click on ‘Check Status.’

 Niger State College of Education Minna School Fees: NCE New and Returning Students

Here are the school fees for the 2020/2021 academic session per session:

New NCE Students (Indigenes): Between N45,000 to N60,000

New NCE Students (Non-Indigenes): Between N35,000 to N50,000

Returning Students (Indigenes): Between N15,000 to N20,000

Returning Students (Non-Indigenes): Between N20,000 to N25,000

 History of Niger State College of Education, Minna

Niger State College of Education, Minna, was previously an advanced teacher’s college. It was established to create an additional Advanced Teachers College in the north. It was, however, upgraded to a College of Education in 1983.

The Niger State College of Education, Minna, was founded by the defunct North Western State Government as an advanced teacher’s college when an additional Advanced Teachers College was required to meet teachers’ searing needs in the state.

Dr. Umar Sanda Ahmadu was the college’s first Principal and Provost, succeeding Dr. Gambo T. Yusuf in 1988, Dr. Bukar Emmanuel Naroko Dauda in 1993, Professor Ibrahim Kolo in 2001, and Professor Faruk Rashid Haruna in 2009. In September 2009, the new provost assumed service.

The first administrative secretary and registrar of the college was Alhaji Muhammed Giwa. In August 1993, Alhaji Ismaila Mohammed Lawas succeeded him. After Alhaji Ismaila Muhammad left for a permanent secretary of state role, he was succeeded by Alhaji Yusuf Muhammed Makusidi as registrar in 2007. Mal. A. D., the present registrar, came into office in 2009.

 School of Science COE Minna Minna

The School of Science in CEO, Minna is headed by the dean, Umar Chado Doko.

Here are the departments under the School of Science in Niger State College of Education:

  • Department of Integrated Science
  • Department of Biology
  • Department of Physical and Health Education
  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of Physics
  • Department of Computer Education
  • Department of Mathematics

Logo of Niger State College of Education, Minna

COE Minna Affiliated Programs

Some of COE Minna affiliated programs include the following.



Integrated Science

Home Economics


COE Minna Courses

Some of the courses offered in Niger State College of Education include:


Social Studies

Christian Religious Studies

Primary Education Studies

Special Education

Islamic Studies

Nigerian Languages



Physical and Health Education

Computer Education

Metal Technology

Building Technology

Home Economics

Agricultural Science


General Studies




Wood Technology

Fine Arts


Maryam A

Maryam AbdulWahab is a creative writer and lifestyle blogger. She is also a graduate of Economics from Al-Hikmah University. She lives and breathes literature. When she isn’t writing prose or blog posts, she is reading a fiction work or studying events around her. She writes from Lagos, Nigeria. You can find more of her works on her handles.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button